Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Day 3: Shenandoah Day 2 7/3/15

We woke up early in the morning and made some breakfast.  I headed out for a run with Cole and ended up on the Appalachian Trail!  We finished the whole thing in about 30 minutes... sure we did...



 Then we saw a deer!  We saw AT LEAST 30 deer during the two days we were at Shenandoah.  


 We decided to hike to Lewis Falls from the Amphitheater.  We were going to do the loop but decided to go to Big Meadows instead and check that out.  The dogs were BEAT.  








Getting close to Lewis Falls...






Callie is in charge of the dog's pack.  She holds their water bowls and treats!



Lewis Falls - It was really pretty!  We barely saw anyone there because we started hiking so early.  We actually met a couple who had camped on the edge of the Falls so they could wake up and see the view. So cool.  



Jeremy stole Thor from one of the teachers at his school and now he's become our mascot.  You'll see him again!




So many beautiful wild flowers in all of the parks. 


Here we are at Big Meadows.  Such a different terrain than the mountains and forest!





Jeremy and Cole after eating lunch underneath the Visitor's Center



Chester was pretty wiped after the hike.  He fell asleep with his head on the cooler!  Chester is pretty much exhausted all day long lol


Us in Big Meadows!


So after our hike we were done for the afternoon.  Actually... we both napped for like 2 hours lol It was a tough hike!  Then... it started raining, and raining and raining.  First we read for a bit, then we showered, went to the amphitheater to get a change of scenery and then finally I said at 7:00pm... hey... we're both not tired at all...why don't we hit the road?  So we did!  We packed up the whole campsite in the pouring rain and left by 8:00.. drove the 3 hours to the hotel and slept in a nice dry hotel room :)  I think the dogs were more relieved at the king bed than we were!



No comments:

Post a Comment