We did our same morning routine from Day 1: Donuts, Park and
Ride and hike. This time we took the
Bear Lake bus to Bierstadt. WOW.
It was a pretty steep hike up. Thor was tired.
Luckily, it wasn't super long.
Talk about a view hiking up the hill. It is amazing how no matter what hike we have
gone on in RMNP, there are no bad ones in terms of views. Whether it’s the view from a mountain, a
meadow, lake, stream, waterfall.
Everything is just unbelievably gorgeous.
It was a relatively short hike up and then
you walked through the trees to the lake.
You could walk around the lake and hike down or there were a few other
trails to follow.
We wanted to go into
Estes Park and check out the town so we opted to hike a trail back to the Park
and Ride so we wouldn’t have to wait for the bus and then do the whole bus
route back to the Park and Ride.
It was
quite a steep hike down and we passed quite a few people (hiking up) who did
NOT look like they were up for it. We
made it back to the car in about 2 hours total and headed to Estes Park. While we were leaving we got to see the
beginning of an old people brawl over our parking spot. That was pretty epic. The old woman got out of her car and
literally body blocked the car that was waiting for the spot behind us. Old people are silly.
Hey look at the cool sweatshirt Jeremy got me at the visitor's center! Obsessed.
We headed to Estes to walk around and grab some lunch. We ended up at this restaurant because Jeremy
needed to use the bathroom. It’s the
first restaurant we went to where there were like NO vegetarian options. No salads, no nothing. You could pay an extra 4.00 for a veggie
burger but I thought that was ridiculous.
I ended up getting a regular burger and Jeremy had a Yak burger. He said it was very tasty but very
fatty. Again, it was an eh-
restaurant. Nothing great.
Jeremy couldn’t handle the delicious smell of
the waffle cones wafting from the stores so we had to get ice cream. After the unbelievable Sweet Cow we ate the
night before this ice cream was gross.
We walked around a bit more and headed back to Boulder to take the dogs
to the dog park.
They had SO much
fun! Cole can have a tough time meeting
new dogs so we thought if we were the first ones there that afternoon, he would
have an easier time. Well we were
right!!
We were the first ones there so
they ran around together and then another dog (german shepherd) came and ran
around and played fetch too. Later a
golden retriever came and a springer spaniel, too. The springer spaniel went to go play in the
water first and the german shepherd and golden retriever went too.
We followed and Chester charged right into
the water! The other dogs were swimming
like crazy playing fetch. We really
wanted Cole to go in but he wanted NOTHING to do with it. We tossed Callie in and she didn’t mind it
but didn’t need to go in again either.
We went back into the dog park to dry off and play some more. They had a BLAST. I am so glad we went. They were one of the most tired that I have
seen them that night.
Because they were so exhausted, we decided to head into
Denver to grab dinner. We went to Fat
Sully’s in the Bluebird district.
Jeremy
saw something on Food Network about it so he wanted to check it out. They’re known for their HUGE pizza slices and
biscuits. I guess they only do biscuits
in the morning, so we ended up with pizza.
It was REALLY good.
Then we
walked around for a bit and ended up at a bar for a couple of drinks. I had a blueberry cider that was amazing but
never got the name. Lame. Then I couldn’t stay awake anymore!






No comments:
Post a Comment